Lactation Services

KATIE ATKINS

                                                                                                                          

 
090218_AtkinsFamily-11.jpg

My name is Katie, and my love for all things birth and babies began early on. When I found out there was an actual job that meant I would get to help mamas navigate one of the most rewarding yet stressful seasons of life, I was hooked. 

I began my journey by attending the  University of Arkansas where I completed my bachelors degree in dietetics (nutrition). The idea of preventing disease, treating disease, and nourishing your body simply by what we put in our mouths captivated me. Shortly after I graduated, I started working in the NICU at Washington Regional Medical Center in the nutrition department and not long after that I was specifically drawn to infant feeding. Providing quality care to families in this transitional time of life was the beginning of what has brought me much joy. This led me to pursue becoming a board certified lactation consultant, at which I completed in June of 2018. I obtained all of my clinical experience in the NICU, postpartum unit, and in outpatient where I gained critical knowledge to be able to help with feeding difficulty in a variety of situations.

And then... I had my own baby. And as much as I loved it before, I gained a new appreciation for how dedicated moms are. I also realized how hard it can be and how much conflicting information is available to us. Even going into postpartum with the knowledge I had in the field of lactation, I still struggled. And this is what fuels me today. I want moms to have the best care, which includes clear, evidence based information combined with steady encouragement and reassurance. Mamas and babies are my sweet spot, and I would love nothing more than to join you on your breastfeeding journey.

I currently live in Fayetteville, Arkansas, with my husband Kyle, my son, Jett, and our 120 pound Rottweiler, Zeke. I work part time at a hospital in the NICU and postpartum unit to keep my clinical skills fresh and up to date (and because I love it!), and part time doing in home care.  When I’m not talking milk and babies, you can find me with family, outdoors, working out, and almost always cooking!

 
background5.jpg